Skip to main content
AwardsFeatured Awards

Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship and Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients Announced

By May 17, 2019No Comments

Twenty-four doctoral students at UBC have received a Vanier Canada Graduate Fellowship, and three postdoctoral fellows have received a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship. The announcement was made on May 16 by the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, at Queen’s University, in Kingston, Ontario. Across Canada, 167 new Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship recipients and 70 new Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship recipients were selected. These fellowships “will help train some of the brightest doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows and will strengthen Canada’s ability to attract and retain world-class research talent.”

These young researchers are working on subjects that span the health sciences, the natural sciences and engineering, and the social sciences and humanities, from Jonathan Eaton’s research on Exploring Cultural Heritage as an Opportunity for Recovery in the Aftermath of Disaster (ECHORAD) to MengXing Na’s investigation on time-and-angle resolved photoemission studies of two-dimensional quantum materials, to Michelle Oldings’s work on optimizing the delivery of supervised drug consumption services.

UBC’s newest Vanier Scholars are:

Daniel Holanda NoronhaApplied ScienceElectrical and Computer EngineeringNSERC
Alaa AbdelaalApplied ScienceElectrical and Computer EngineeringNSERC
Julia HugginsScienceMicrobiology & ImmunologyNSERC
Cassandra ElphinstoneScienceBotanyNSERC
Michelle OldingG+PSInterdisciplinary StudiesCIHR
Hong LuMedicinePsychiatryCIHR
Ehsanur RahmanApplied ScienceElectrical and Computer EngineeringNSERC
Kevin Yijun FanMedicineMD/PhD ProgramCIHR
Stephen ChignellScienceResources, Environment and SustainabilityNSERC
Jonathan EatonArtsAnthropologySSHRC
Wissam NassrallahMedicineMD/PhD ProgramCIHR
Fuhar DixitApplied ScienceChemical EngineeringNSERC
Ryan HuffMedicineMedicineCIHR
MengXing NaSciencePhysics and AstronomyNSERC
Alexander TerpstraArtsPsychologyCIHR
Ryan DwyerArtsPsychologySSHRC
Tuve Mikael OmstedtArtsGeographySSHRC
Rachel Brydolf-HorwitzArtsGeographySSHRC
Seyed Amirhossein NasseriScienceChemistryNSERC
Karama AslehMedicineInterdisciplinary OncologyCIHR
Wajiha MehdiArtsSocial Justice InstituteSSHRC
Mollie HolmbergArtsGeographySSHRC
Bahaa Abu RayaMedicineMedicineCIHR
Temitope OnifadePeter A. Allard School of LawLawSSHRC

The list of UBC’s new Banting Fellows is available on

The full lists of Vanier Scholars and Banting Fellows across Canada are available from the Government of Canada.